Writing 101, Day Nine: Changing Moccasins — Point of View

Prompts:

For today’s assignment, write a scene at the park. Up for a twist? Write the scene from three different points of view

Trees:

The creature stared at me idly. They’re intent hidden behind their long faces. No one looks at them like i do. They just walk on by, their minds cluttered with trivialities. But i….I see what they want. They are being born in the thousands and soon they’ll take root and show the others their faces.

The first time i realized them was on my daily walk. The elderly man held my hand as we walked through the garden. The day was beautiful…until we sat down in the flowers. The elderly man let go of my hand and walked away to talk to a woman in a lovely shade of white. That’s when i heard it,

“Damned humans!” The voice was gravelly, “I can’t wait until we–”

I turned around and silent they became. So i stared and stared and it had been so long that they ignored me like the cluttered mind others did them. One of them opened each eye and spoke to the other,

“I’m tired of waiting! When do we strike?” The auburn leaved one. The evergreen shook it’s leaves and replied,

“Being a tree is about patience.”

Then the elderly took hold of me and took me from that place. He brought me back to my room. That was when i saw them. And they saw me. I know they live, but clutter keeps the others from believing me. They don’t hear when i say they speak. In time they’ll head my words about these “trees.”

Leave a Reply

