Writing 101, Day Fourteen: To Whom It May Concern

Prompt:

Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What jumps out at you? Start there, and try a twist: write in the form of a letter.

Nearest Book: Choke by Chuck Palahniuk

Word: CoDependent.

Co:

Hey,

I was just wondering where you went. I’ve been waiting around the house for a couple of days waiting for you to come back. I didn’t shower, just so you know, you didn’t bring any bathing soap back from your last trip to the store. I just wanted to point out that these trips are taking longer and longer, and i’m starting to worry about you. Maybe the shower we had yesterday, you know when i wet up your favorite wig in the bath–still very sorry about that– got a bit on your nerves, but you can’t still be so bitter about it. It’s one wig. Get over it really. This little passive aggressive trip aren’t going to hurt me as much as it’s hurting you.

Oh and in the frig there isn’t anymore honey and cheese. When you buy some cheese don’t get the off brand. I need Jamaican imported cheese. And get any kind of honey, as long as it’s in a glass jar. If it’s in anything else it’s as good as shit. I leaving this on the kitchen while i sulk in the bed room because the kitchen and bathroom have begun to stink…and can’t stand the smell. Come home already. I haven’t eaten at all. I miss your cooking—and the cheese. So how ’bout you come home, clean up, give me a bath, and feed me like a good woman? I’ll be waiting in the back room

Emily,

Your child.

 

Leave a Reply

